Portaferry Lifeboat - Links
RNLI Lifeboat House, The Strand, Portaferry, Co Down, Northern Ireland

 

(Portaferry Lifeboat Station is not responsible for the content of the following internet sites)

TO GO TO YOUR SELECTED WEB SITE JUST CLICK ON THE LINK IN WHITE LETTERING

Associated Web Sites

RNLI - www.rnli.org

Shop RNLI - www.rnlishop.org.uk (Buy quality products to support the RNLI)

CBBC 'Blue Peter' - www.bbc.co.uk/bluepeter (who have gifted us three 'Blue Peter' lifeboats)

 

RNLI film archives

'Heros of the Sea' - A history of the RNLI published in 1997. Click HERE to view (1hr.17m)

'Gale Warning' - 1952 film about RNLI rescues. Click HERE to view (10 minutes)


Local film archives

UTV Documentary in 1990 about Portaferry including the RNLI Routen Wheel Row and Portaferry Sailing Club's 'Galway Hookers' event - www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoReQbkoEos


Local RNLI Lifeboat Station web sites

Bangor Lifeboat - Facebook Page

Carrybridge Lifeboat - Facebook Page

Donaghadee Lifeboat - www.donaghadeelifeboat.co.uk  Facebook Page

Eniskillen Lifeboat - Facebook Page

Kilkeel Lifeboat - Facebook Page

Larne Lifeboat - Facebook Page

Newcastle Lifeboat - www.newcastlelifeboat.com   Facebook Page

Portrush Lifeboat - Facebook Page

Red Bay Lifeboat - Facebook Page

For information about other RNLI stations visit - https://rnli.org/find-my-nearest

Affilliated life-saving web sites

Wellington Volunteer Coastguard (New Zealand) - www.coastguardwellington.org.nz

 

Weather & Tidal information

UK Met Office Shipping Forcast - www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/marine/shipping_forecast.html

UK Met Office Inshore Waters - www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/marine/inshore_forecast.html

Met Eireann (Irish Meteorological Weather Service) - Atlantic coast and Irish Sea area forecasts - www.met.ie/forecasts/sea-area.asp

UK & Ireland weather conditions - Current, past and predicted wind speed, wind direction, barometric pressure and weather observations throughout UK & Ireland - www.xcweather.uk

Tidal predictions - www.easytide.ukho.gov.uk

Yahoo Weather - http://uk.weather.yahoo.com/

NOAA - North Atlantic barometric, wind & wave analysis and prognosis (24hr to 96hr) via Weather Charts - NOAA North Atlantic Weather


Coastguard

HM Coastguard - Maritime and Coastguard Agency - www.mcga.gov.uk

Irish Coast Guard - Irish Coast Guard

 

Useful nautical information

Royal Yachting Association - www.rya.org.uk (Governing body of sailing/boating etc, in the UK)

Royal Yachting Association Northern Ireland Council - www.ryani.org.uk (Governing body of sailing/boating etc, in Northern Ireland)

Irish Sailing Association - www.sailing.ie (Governing body of sailing/boating etc, in the Republic of Ireland)

Irish Cruising Club - www.irishcruisingclub.com

Clyde Cruising Club - www.clyde.org

UK Sailing index - www.sail.co.uk

CALLSIGN/GMDSS/MMSI/SHIP Name finder - www.itu.int/cgi-bin/htsh/mars/ship_search.sh

Notices to mariners - UK Hydrographic Office - www.admiralty.co.uk

Notices to mariners - Commissioners of Irish Lights - www.irishlights.ie/safety-navigation

UK Border Force & Customs - www.gove.uk/government/organisations/border-force

Marine Accident Investigation Branch - www.maib.gov.uk/home/index.cfm

OFCOM - www.ofcom.org.uk (Radio-communications agency)

Commissioners of Irish Lights - www.irishlights.ie (Responsible for maintaining the lighthouses and navigational aids around the island of Ireland)

Vessel Automatic Identification System (1) - www.marinetraffic.com 

Vessel Automatic Identification System (2) - www.shipais.com

Ireland Afloat (Ireland's Yachting/Boating magazine) - www.afloat.ie

Irish Ruffian Association - www.ruffians.ie (A 'Ruffian' is a class of racing yacht designed by the late Dr William (Billy) Brown, Portaferry Lifeboat Station's first Honorary Secretary and its 5th President.)

 

Local Information / News

Portaferry - www.portaferry.info

Portaferry Sailing Club - www.portaferrysailingclub.com

Portaferry Marina - www.PortaferryMarina.co.uk Telephone +44 (0)7703 209 780

Strangford visitors pontoon & moorings - www.thecuan.com  Telephone +44 (0)28 4488 1222

Strangford Ferry - www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/strangford-ferry-timetable (Information about the Strangford Ferry service between Portaferry & Strangford)

Bus and train services in Northern Ireland - www.translink.co.uk  Telephone: +44 (0)28 9066 6630

Portaferry Gala - www.PortaferryGala.com (information about Portaferry Gala Week held in July each year)

Strangford Lough Regattas - www.strangfordloughregattas.co.uk (Information about regattas & sailing events + contact information for all of the 10 yacht clubs within Strangford Lough)

Down Coastal Rowing Club - www.downcoastalrowing.org (Information about rowing races in the County Down area and beyond)

Strangford Lough conservation (Strangford Lough & Lecale Partnership) - www.strangfordlough.org

Kirkistown Castle Golf Club - www.linksgolfkirkistown.com ( local golf club rated 12th best in Northern Ireland - located a few miles from Portaferry)

Ards and North Down Borough Council - www.ardsandnorthdown.gov.uk

Portaferry Hotel - www.portaferryhotel.com

The Cuan Guest Inn - Strangford - www.thecuan.com   (PLEASE CONTACT THE CUAN HOTEL IF USING ONE OF THEIR TWO VISITORS MOORINGS OR BERTHING AT THE NEW VISITORS PONTOON AT THE HARBOUR IN STRANGFORD VILLAGE)

Exploris Aquarium - www.explorisni.com

Down District Council - www.downdc.gov.uk.

Updated 10/6/20

 

Current RNLI Fundraising Events - UK & Ireland | Today's Cartoon

Back to top